According to reports of a German news site, many casinos in North Germany are supporting the return of the Deutsche Pokermeisterschaft (DPM), the German Poker Championship. Many German casinos this year will be running qualifiers for €2,200 DPM and places like Hannover, Berlin, Hamburg, Schenefeld, Warnemunde are getting in on the act and holding €550 buy-in satellites. After the satellites are over, players ranking highest on the leader board will get the tickets into the main event.

The site provides German news in English and it came up with many reasons for the Championship’s inability to succeed. One of the reasons mentioned is the location of the event, Warnemunde. Though the location is attractive, yet it is quite awkward and made it difficult for others travelling from major cities to come and participate in the event. When the event was shifted to Berlin, then it received the worst turnout.

The site also states that the organizers of the event failed to keep with the standards of international tournament structure and therefore by last year, there was no more interest left among people with the event.


The 2012 Aussie Millions Poker Championship tournament is now currently going on in full swing. Out of the 26 scheduled events,
three have already been played out. Brendon Rubie and Dan “djk123” Kelly won the first two events and started the tournament with great promise. Several other top ranking poker professionals having previous success in Melbourne are arriving at the Crown daily. These include big names like Jeffrey Lisandro, Randy Dorfman, Erik Seidel and Gus Hansen. Many more pros are still on their way.

Sunday saw the commencement of two events, namely the $10,000 Main Event and the $100,000 Challenge. Players participating in the $100,000 Challenge included such names as Phil Ivey, Jason Mercier, Gus Hansen, Tony G, Daniel Negreanu and Erik Seidel. A few players including McLean Karr, Patrik Antonius, Barry Greenstein and Randy Dorfman decided to skip the $100,000 Challenge and try out their hands at the $10,000 Main Event.

In this year’s event, we saw many leading European poker champions such as former European Poker Tour winners Anton Wigg (Copenhagen 2010), David Vamplew (London 2010), Rupert Elder (San Remo 2011) and Michael Tureniec (Copenhagen 2011). There were also several local heroes such as Andrew Hinrichsen, Jeffrey Lisandro, Lee Nelson and Faraz Jaka present in the $10,000 Main Event.

A roaring buzz was heard in the Crown Poker Room in response to the facts that 153 players signed up for Day 1a of the $10,000 Main Event. Joe Hachem performed the pre-game formalities by giving the shuffle up and deal and greeting the players with some heartfelt words for participating in the biggest poker competition in Australia. After the completion of seven levels, nearly 68 players remained in the game.
Brett Watson leaded the way with 257400 in chips. Watson performed greatly on Day 1a gradually building up his stack while really taking the lead at the last level of the night.

Focus on: Jeffrey Lisandro

Jeffrey Lisandro is a poker player born in Australia, which now lives in Italy, in Salerno. Most people know Lisandro as a specialist in cash games, but also takes part in a lot of poker tournaments. He is considered one of the best players of Seven Card Stud and he proved it in 2009, at the WSOP, where he won all the events of Seven Card Stud, a total of three. The tournaments that he won then were Razz, Stud High Low and Stud High.

He started playing poker at a very young age, being taught by his mother when he was only five.

The first appearance at a WSOP event’s final table was in 1997, at a Limit Hold’em event of $3,000. He managed to finish at a total of eleven final tables at WSOP during his entire career as a poker player. He has won a total of four bracelets, one in Razz, one bracelet at Stud Hi Low and two bracelets at Seven Card Stud.

In 2004, he managed to win a Limit Hold’em tournament heads-up and he defeated Howard Lederer in the process. The prize for that event was $194,000. In 2005 he defeated Phil Ivey in a heads-up confrontation at the WSOP No Limit Hold’em $10,000 event and he took a prize of $542,360.

The first of his bracelets at WSOP was won in 2007, at Seven Card Stud $2,000 and he played against Nick Frangos and Daniel Negreanu, among others.

So far during his career he didn’t reach the WPT final table yet but he did manage to finish twice in the money.

As for the WSOP, he has a total of 35 money finishes so far, out of which 5 were bracelets.

In 2010 he had a total of $4.4 million in earnings from live tournaments, out of which over $2.9 million were at WSOP. He received the WSOP award for Player of the Year in 2009.